M4 Reflection

Even though I hold a minor in psychology and thoroughly studied child development, I am forgetful and many times misunderstand the development of children. My thoughts on teaching and human growth have not changed, but have manifested and eagerness to provide for my students based on their needs has deepened. As I read more about information processing by Pressley & McCormick (2007), I recommit myself to understanding the process of growth and self-discovery for my students.

As I read through Piaget’s stages of development, I am once again reminded that children cognitively grow in stages. This cognitive development is associated with complex schemes and thinking and behavior (Pressley & McCormick, 2007, p. 62). Knowing this, it allows me to see what I need to improve and prepare myself. With this polished understanding about Piaget’s stages, I see some light and directions I need to take to provide for my students.

While my understanding and compassion towards the individual strengthens, there are many approaches I learned and hope to work into my classroom and philosophy. As I reflect on my education and some changes I wanted, there is a lot I want to provide for my future students. I craved exploration and discovery as a child and I want this for all my students. I think constructivism and strategies like the discovery approach are some of the finer techniques I would use. Constructivism recognizes the need for self-exploration, while tactically providing effective support (Pressley & McCormick, 2007, p. 86). Asking students to discover a concept and independently search for questions and answers very much prepares them for being successful thinkers and individuals.

Prior to this course, my philosophy on teaching was extremely narrow and self- deceptive. I continuously questioned my ability to teach and create an educated generation. However, as the course continues to unravel, it feels as though burdens are lessening. I was especially burdened after Medina (2009) inserts his thoughts on short-term memory. I continuously thought to myself, “How am I to ever let an idea be embedded into their minds with such short term memory? Will I be prepared to answer all my student’s questions? Will my students understand how much their learning means to me?” However, after reading some of the responses by my colleagues, I am heartened by the reminders. My abilities will shine through my teaching as long as my passion for the material surfaces.

Medina, J. (2008) Brain Rules. Seattle, WA: Pear Press.

Pressley, M. & McCormick, C. B. (2007). Child and Adolescent Development for Educators. New York, NY: The Guilford Press.

Leave a comment